Thank thy Lord….


I learned a great way out of my bouts of pessimism from this book I once read. Whenever in a bad situation, think of the worse or better yet the worst thing that could have happened to you – the bad will automatically start looking good.

Yesterday only I came across 2 articles about acid victims, the issue in hype these days, and all of a sudden I found myself  being thankful to God about my state. Thankful that I was born in a literate family and that I am surrounded by civilized people. I can’t say that I know the pain of a burn patient, but I have seen one and it kept me from eating anything for a day. I can’t even begin to imagine what it would be like to wake up every morning and look at a horrific image in the mirror, that once was your face. To have people stare and gape at you, sympathize with you and shrink away from you. If we look around, we can find so many reasons for being happy and satisfied with our lives.

The other day I happened to be at a hospital’s building specific for cancer patients. A young man entered who stooped when he walked. His parents were supporting him. It was obvious that he was a cancer patient and the rotten disease had sucked the life out of him. It made me think of the young people who are wasting their lives, throwing away these precious years in moping about how life is unfair to them and all the young people who attempt suicides in order to escape from the bitterness of life. But this gentleman – he was fighting, probably the most difficult war and unlike those grumblers, embracing life with dignity, however frail that life was. I don’t know what happened to him later on but he did teach me a lesson of patience and thankfulness.

Then those people who die young, the people who are so good that you wonder why did they have to leave so soon. People with little kids that depend on them and parents who love them. I have seen families shatter with the death of that one person who held them together. They live a life of emptiness, with a void too big to be filled in by anyone and yet, they live!

When I feel a bit low, I think of these people and all of a sudden I find reasons to be happy, sometimes in the silliest of things. I find reasons to love and cherish what ever I have and Alhamdulillah I am better than many.

“I do not think of all the misery, but of the glory that remains. Go outside into the fields, nature and the sun, go out and seek happiness in yourself and in God. Think of the beauty that again and again discharges itself within and without you and be happy.”
– Anne Frank

©2012 Habiba Danyal.

Recommended Articles:

22 thoughts on “Thank thy Lord….

  1. You are so right. The best thing you can do when down is realize you are not alone and then count your blessings for where you still are. Feeling great full for what you do have helps the pain of what you lost

  2. girl…. this one is so representing me… i myself had an experience of visiting a cancer hospital and that day i cried so much… the list on the wall had so many young children’s name.. alhumdulilah we are blessed with more than we deserve!

  3. ‘Thank You’ is the greatest prayer we can offer! Thank you for eyesight, working limbs, fingers to type, touch and create with … thank you for family and friends. Thank you for failures, mistakes and the successes that follow.

    What a beautiful post!

  4. I love your strength! Welcome to diabeticredemption.com. I’m glad you’ve joined us. If you’d like, please find my Friends page and tell me and my readers a little about you and your blog. Please include the URL so they can find you. Again, welcome.

  5. You drive a great point. It’s easy to fall into the ‘woe is me’ attitude when things go wrong, but if we can just see the bigger picture, we would realize how insignificant those things are. We have much to be grateful for.

  6. Yea, life seems unfair when we see people suffer like that. They are so brave to fight these things. They are an inspiration for all of us; who even complain in even fighting off small things

Leave a Reply

